WISE WISE WISE WISE WISE WISE WISE WISE
WISE Muslim Women: About WISE

معلومات حول WISE

ما هو WISE ؟

أن مبادرة المرأة المسلمة للروحانية والمساواة WISE هي برنامج عالمي وشبكة اجتماعية وحركة شعبية للعدالة الاجتماعية تقودها المرأة المسلمة. كما أنها تمكين النساء المسلمات من المشاركة الكاملة في مجتمعاتهن المحلية وبلدانهن وتعظيم أصوتهن الجماعية. لقد تمتعت المرأة المسلمة بتراث غني بالتميز في أدوارها كقائدة ومهنية وراعية وناشطة ، فالتاريخ الإسلامي سجل حافل بمساهماتها المشهودة كمعلمة وعالمة في الكتاب المقدس وقانونه . تمثل وايز حركة رسمية للنساء المسلمات لاستعادة هذه التركة.

من يرعى WISE ؟

إن WISE هو برنامج الجمعية الأمريكية لتقدم المسلمين ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية مقرها في نيويورك مكرسة لتعزيز التعبير الحقيقي عن الإسلام عبرالتعاون بين الأديان وتمكين المرأة والشباب والتبادل الثقافي والفني.

من يدعم WISE ؟

  • MDG3 FUND
  • UNFPA
  • The Sister Fund
  • The Rockefeller Brothers Fund
  • Henry Luce Foundation

ما الحاجة لوجود WISE ؟

إن عدم المساواة القائم على نوع الجنس هو قضية عالمية لحقوق الانسان تتجاوز حدود الثقافة والدين والوضع الاجتماعي - الاقتصادي ، فعلى الرغم من أن مشاكل مثل العنف المنزلي وعدم كفاية فرص الوصول إلى التكنولوجيا وضعف التعليم وانعدام الفرص الاقتصادية منتشرة على نطاق واسع ، إلا أن المرأة المسلمة ، على نحو خاص ، تواجه قيود التمييز وعدم المساواة ، ففي الواقع ، أن 20 بلداً من بين 25 بلدا الذي يحتل المستوى الأدنى في مؤشر الفجوة بين الجنسين الخاص بالمنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي لعام 2009 ، الذي يصنف مرتبة مشاركة المرأة في المجتمع ، هي ذات أغلبية مسلمة ، وعلى الرغم من أن حياة هؤلاء النسوة تتأثر بالتفاعل المعقد للعوامل الدينية والثقافية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية والسياسية وما سواها من العوامل ، إلا أن الإسلام يمارس تأثيراً هائلاً حيث يُعزى إليه كلا من تمكين المرأة واضطهادها ، ولذلك ، فأن التطرق الى إعادة صياغة حقوق المرأة ضمن إطار إسلامي والتوصل الى العوامل العديدة التي توهن المرأة ، يجب أن يتم بشكل مباشر وجماعي

ما هي رسالتنا ؟اعلى الصفح

بناء حركة عالمية متلاحمة للمرأة المسلمة تستعيد حقوق المرأة في الإسلام وتمكنَها من اتخاذ خيارات تحفظ كرامتها و تشارك بشكل كامل في انشاء مجتمعات عادلة ومزدهرة.

كيف بدأ WISE ؟ اعلى الصفح

في تشرين الثاني 2006 ، أطلقت الجمعية الأمريكية لتقدم المسلمين مبادرة WISE في مؤتمر تاريخي في مدينة نيويورك حيث أجتمعت 150 امرأة مسلمة رائدة ، من بينهن العلمات والناشطات والفنانات وقائدات المجتمع الديني والمدني - يمثًلن أكثر من 25 بلدا - لوضع رؤية كلية وشاملة لتحسين وضع المرأة المسلمة في جميع أنحاء العالم ، فكانت ولادة WISE عندئذ ، ومنذ إنعقاد ذلك المؤتمر الافتتاحي ، حفًزت WISE حركة متنوعة وموحدة تلتمس مشاركة مختلف الأديان وتحتضن طيف عريض من الإيديولوجيات والمهن والقوميات.

من هي امرأة WISE ؟ اعلى الصفح

نساء يكشفن عن مظاهر قيادية في مجتمعاتهن ؛

نساء يخلقن تغيير اجتماعي إيجابي وينهضن بمجتمعاتهن من خلال تقديم الخدمات و التعليم ، و الإعلام والصحة والخدمات الاجتماعية والأحسان والنمو الروحي ؛

نساء ملتزمات بتمكين المرأة المسلمة من تحقيق كل إمكاناتها كفرد وضمن علاقتها بالأسرة والمجتمع والبلد والعالم ؛

نساء يستخدمن عقيدتهم الإسلامية كمبرر وكإلهام من أجل تمكين المرأة المسلمة ؛

نساء يكرَسن أنفسهن لبناء حركة تغيير في العالم من خلال التبادل المفتوح لوجهات نظر متنوعة

ما هو ميثاق WISE ؟ اعلى الصفح

إن ميثاق وايز هو حجر الزاوية في مبادرة وايز ، و موجز بمبادئها ورسالتها ورابطا لشبكة علاقات وايز إذ يمثل أعلاناً مشتركاً يرشد كل امرأة من النساء وايز في عملها .

يجري ترجمة الميثاق الى اللغات العربية والتركية والفارسية والأردية والدارية والبهاسا ونشره بأشكال متعددة وسيتم عرضه ومناقشته في مؤتمر 2009 وسيُطلب من المشاركين المصادقة كما سيتم الاستعلام عن اقتراحاتهم لتفعيل الميثاق وتوثيق تنفيذه على المستويات العالمية والإقليمية والقطرية والمحلية.

وتعرف على الموارد ذات الصلة هناإقراء ميثاق WISE هنا

علامة انضم الى الحركة. وقع على الميثاق

لماذا WISE فريد من نوعه ؟اعلى الصفح

بصفته مبادرة ذات ثقل عالمي وجذور عميقة في المجتمعات الأسلامية معاً في جميع أنحاء العالم ، يوَلد WISE زخماً بالغ الأهمية من أجل التغيير .

إن المشاكل والتحديات التي تواجه المرأة المسلمة في جميع أنحاء العالم ضخمة ومتعددة الجوانب، ونتيجة لذلك كلما كثرت المنظمات المكرسة لخلق التغيير ، كلما أمكن لهذا الزخم ان يكون أقوى. لقد وضع برنامج WISE استراتيجية تعاونية تثني على المنظمات العاملة في مجال النهوض بمركز المرأة المسلمة و ترعى التعاون وتدعم العمل المتنوع للقيادات النسوية المسلمة في جميع أنحاء العالم لبناء القدرات من أجل العمل الجماعي.

إلا أن كل برامج WISE ، مع ذلك ، لم يسبق لها مثيل من حيث الحجم والنطاق والمهمة إذ تقوم WISE ، بصفتها الكلية والشاملة ، بتحويل وضع المرأة المسلمة في سياقات لا حصر لها من داخل العقيدة والتقاليد الإسلامية . إن المبادرة فريدة من نوعها بالطرق الرئيسية التالية:

إن WISE أصيلة للتقاليد الإسلامية. لا تزال الحركات النسوية المسلمة متعرقلة بسبب عدم قدرتها أوعدم رغبتها في مواجهة التفسيرات الدينية الهدامة ، إذ مالت الناشطات إلى تجاهل أو تجنب الدين ، ولذلك فشلن في تعبئة قطاعات واسعة من الناس في مناطقها ممن يستعينون بالدين في حياتهم اليومية. على النقيض من هذا، يقدم WISE صوت المسلم ويعالج مباشرة الحاجة إلى حركة نسوية مسلمة ذات شرعية وأصالة دينية ويدرك أهمية الدين في حياة المرأة اليومية كما يعزز الحجج الإسلامية المطالبة بحقوق الإنسان للمرأة ويسهَل انتشار تلك الحجج على نطاق شبكة WISE الأوسع .

إن WISE شاملة وكلية. على الرغم من نضال العديد من المنظمات ضد توهين المرأة المسلمة ، إلا انها نادرا ما كانت تأخذ في نظر الاعتبار العوامل المختلفة بطريقة شاملة ، فبسبب نقص المعرفة المحددة السياق ، استخدمت تلك المناهج نمطياً و الإطر الغربية محض لفهم المشكلة واعتمدت حصريا على مقاييس< الوضع الاقتصادي والمستوى التعليمي والرعاية الصحية أو المشاركة السي WISE التغيير من منظور شامل يعالج العديد من العوامل المتداخلة التي تسهم في انعدام المساواة القائمة على نوع الجنس .

إن تركيبة WISE هي حركة عالمية وشاملة. في الوقت الذي كانت جهود المرأة المسلمة في مجال المطالبة بالحقوق مجزأة في كثير من الأحيان ، ظهر WISE كمبادرة شاملة ، إذ أن جذبها لنساء من أطياف متنوعة من الإيديولوجيات و المهن والقوميات قد عزز التعاون بين الجماعات المتباينة والمتعارضة أحيانا ،< كما أن هذا التنوع القومي والفكري والمهني قد سهَل للمرأة في WISE الأتحاد خلف المثل الإسلامية العليا والالتزام بخلق تغيير إيجابي ومستدام وضروي للغاية. فضلا عن ذلك ، يستخدم WISE منهج أعلى - أسفل و أسفل - أعلى ، الذي يُعد عالميا و شعبياَ في آن معا لضمان الوصول المباشر إلى السياقات المحلية عبر شبكتها والفروع المحلية .

كيف يخلق WISE التغيير ؟اعلى الصفح

عبر خلق البنية التحتية والمجال لمجموعة متنوعة من النساء المسلمات للتحالف معا ، يقود WISE الجهود الجماعية لتحدي التفسيرات المشوهة للإسلام وتنمية مستوى تقرير المصير الاجتماعي والاقتصادي للمرأة ، وتعظيم صوت المرأة على كافة مستويات الخطاب السياسي والديني والاجتماعي . يتعامل برنامج WISE مع التغيير بطريقة شمولية عبر أربع استراتيجيات رئيسية هي : الاتصالات والتفسير و ألإحسان والتعاون .

التغيير من خلال الاتصالات
يجب أن يُخلق التغيير من خلال الاتصالات الفعالة ، في داخل وخارج شبكة WISE العالمية ، مع وسائل الاعلام والجمهور الأكبر. واستجابة لذلك ، وضع WISE بوابة متطورة تقنيا للمرأة المسلمة حيث لن يتم تعريف المرأة المسلمة من قبل الآخرين بعد الآن ، ولتكون البوابة الشاملة بمثابة مخرن لجميع المعلومات المتعلقة بالمرأة المسلمة ( في الماضي والحاضر) ، ولنشاطها ، وكذلك أداة لتواصل أعضاء الشبكة العالمية WISE .

التغيير من خلال الفعل
يجب أن يُخلق التغيير من خلال المجتمع الذي ينظم ويعبئ لحركة عالمية للمرأة المسلمة من أجل العدالة الاجتماعية. استرشادا بمبادئ ميثاق WISE وبمساعدة مختلف أدوات وموارد البرنامج ، أصبح مجتمع WISE بقيادة النساء المسلمات العالمات والناشطات والفنانات وقائدات المجتمع المدني والقائدات الروحانيات وأنصارهن في جميع أنحاء العالم في طليعة خالقي التغيير.

التغيير من خلال التعاون
يجب أن يُخلق التغيير من خلال شراكات استراتيجية تشمل الرجال والنساء من الديانات الأخرى على حد سواء. لقد رعت WISE عدد من العلاقات التعاونية مع المؤسسات الهامة مع أفراد ومنظمات في جميع أنحاء العالم (بما في ذلك معهد آسبن وجامعة نابورا و الجمعية المصرية لتنمية المجتمع والكثير سواها) وفي مختلف القطاعات حيث تقدم مجموعة من الدورات التدريبة و أنشطة بناء القدرات والخدمات الاستشارية للعمل في بلدان محددة .

التغيير من خلال التفسير
يجب خلق التغيير من خلال تفسير (وإعادة تفسير) النصوص الاسلامية الرئيسية. لقد انشأت WISE مجلس شورى عالمي للمرأة المسلمة يتكون من النساء المسلمات العالمات والناشطات ، حيث يعزز هذا المجلس، لأصالته في الإسلام وبوصفه احد عوامل القرن 21 ، حقوق المرأة ضمن إطار إسلامي عبر أنشطة التعليم والدفاع عن الحقوق .

ما هي الخدمات التي يقدمها WISE ؟ اعلى الصفح

يؤسس برنامج WISE على القوى والمواهب والخبرات والتجارب الجماعية لأعضائه : النساء القائدات كالناشطات والعالمات والسياسيات وقائدات المجتمع المدني والصحافيات وفاعلات الخير والقائدات الروحيات والفنانات من جميع أنحاء العالم ، ويعزز التعاون ويدعم العمل المتنوع لتلك االقيادات النسوية المسلمة في جميع أنحاء العالم. يقوم بناء القدرات من أجل العمل الجماعي و فعاليته على العناصر التالية :

  • مؤتمرالمؤتمرات بغرض السماح لأطياف متنوعة من المشاركين بوضع استراتيجيات لأهم القضايا التي تواجه المرأة المسلمة والتمكن من تبادل أفضل الممارسات وتسهيل الشراكات بين الحركات التي ستصبح مجزأة في حالة عدم تحقيق ذلك . أنظر :مؤتمر المعلومات 2009
  • الاتصالات من أجل الأستفادة من تأثير المعلومات الرقمية على المرأة المسلمة والإسلام ودعم تبادل المعلومات على نحو استباقي ، أولا وقبل كل شيء بين أعضاء WISE و قادة المجتمع وواضعي السياسات وممثلي وسائل الإعلام والمربين والطلاب أيضا .
  • خدمات استشارية لتقديم الدعم الاستراتيجي والتدريب والتوجيه من أجل بناء وتشغيل وإدامة شبكة WISE على الصعيد العالمي والوطني أطلب من امرأة WISE تموذج الطلبفضلا عن الشبكات المحلية. أنظر :
  • التعلم المشترك من أجل توفير المعرفة المتاحة وتقاسم الاستراتيجيات الحاسمة وتمكين النساء المسلمات في جميع أنحاء العالم من الاستفادة من خبرات ومعارف بعضهن البعض الآخر. موارد أنظر : الموارد

About WISE

Contact WISE

What is WISE?

The Women’s Islamic Initiative in Spirituality and Equality (WISE) is a global program, social network and grassroots social justice movement led by Muslim women. WISE is empowering Muslim women to fully participate in their communities and nations and amplifying their collective voices. Muslim women have enjoyed a rich legacy of excellence in their roles as leaders, professionals, caregivers and activists, and Islamic history is an impressive record of their remarkable contributions as teachers and scholars of sacred text and law. WISE represents an authoritative Muslim women’s movement to reclaim this legacy.

Who sponsors WISE?

WISE is a program of the American Society for Muslim Advancement, a New York-based non-profit organization dedicated to strengthening an authentic expression of Islam through interfaith collaboration, youth and women’s empowerment, and arts and cultural exchange.

Who supports WISE?

  • MDG3 FUND
  • UNFPA
  • The Sister Fund
  • The Rockefeller Brothers Fund
  • Henry Luce Foundation

What is the need for WISE?

Gender-based inequality is a global human rights issue that transcends culture, religion and socio-economic status. Though such problems as domestic violence, inadequate access to technology, poor education, and lack of economic opportunity are widespread, Muslim women in particular confront the limitations of discrimination and inequality. In fact, 20 of the 25 lowest-ranking countries on the World Economic Forum’s 2010 Gender Gap Index, which ranks women’s participation in society, are Muslim-majority countries. Although these women’s lives are influenced by a complex interaction of religious, cultural, social, economic, political and other factors, Islam wields enormous influence, and it is drawn upon to both empower and oppress women. Thus, reframing women’s rights within an Islamic framework and approaching the numerous factors that disempower women must be addressed directly and collectively.

What is our mission? Top

To build a cohesive, global movement of Muslim women that will reclaim women’s rights in Islam, enabling them to make dignified choices and fully participate in creating just and flourishing societies.

How did WISE start?Top

In November 2006, ASMA launched WISE at a historic conference in New York City. As these 150 leading Muslim women scholars, activists, artists and religious and civil society leaders – representing over 25 countries – joined together to develop a holistic and comprehensive vision for improving the position of Muslim women around the globe, WISE was born. Since this inaugural conference, WISE has energized a diverse and unified movement, soliciting participation from across religions and embracing a wide spectrum of ideologies, professions and nationalities.

Who is a WISE woman? Top

Women exhibiting leadership in their communities;

Women creating positive social change and uplifting their community through service, education and media, health and social services, philanthropy and spiritual growth;

Women committed to empowering Muslim women to realize their full potential as individuals and in relationship to family, community, nation and globe;

Women using their Islamic faith as a justification and inspiration for Muslim women’s empowerment;

Women dedicated to building a global change movement through the open exchange of diverse perspectives.

What is the WISE Compact?Top

The WISE Compact is a cornerstone of the WISE initiative, an encapsulation of its principles and mission. The Compact ties together the WISE network, serving as a common manifesto that guides each of the WISE women in their individual work.

The Compact is being translated into Arabic, Turkish, Farsi, Urdu, Dari and Bahasa and disseminated in multiple formats. It will be presented and discussed at the 2009 conference, and participants will be asked for their endorsements. The participants also will be queried about their suggestions for activating the WISE Compact and documenting its operationalization at the global, regional, country and local levels.

Read the WISE Compact here and learn about related resources.

Join the Movement. Sign the Compact.

Why is WISE unique?Top

As an initiative with both global scale and deep roots in Muslim communities throughout the world, WISE is generating critical momentum for change.

The problems and challenges facing Muslim women across the globe are vast and multi-various. Consequently, the more organizations dedicated to creating change, the more powerful this momentum can become. The WISE program has developed a collaborative strategy that compliments organizations working to advancing the position of Muslim women. It fosters collaboration and supports the diverse work of Muslim women leaders worldwide, building capacity for collective action.

Nevertheless, all WISE programs are without precedent in scope, scale and mission. Holistic and comprehensive, WISE is transforming the position of Muslim women in innumerable contexts from within the Islamic faith and traditions. The initiative is unique in the following key ways:

WISE is authentic to the Islamic tradition. Muslim women’s movements remain hampered by their inability or unwillingness to confront destructive religious interpretations. Activists have tended to ignore or avoid religion, thus failing to mobilize large portions of their grassroots constituencies who draw upon religion within their daily lives. WISE, in contrast, offers a Muslim voice. It directly addresses the need for a Muslim women’s movement with religious legitimacy and authenticity. It recognizes the importance of religion in the day-to-day lives of women, both promoting Islamic arguments to demand the human rights of women and facilitating the dissemination of these arguments to the larger WISE network.

WISE is comprehensive and holistic. Though numerous organizations have wrestled with Muslim women’s disempowerment, rarely have they taken into account the various factors in a holistic manner. Due to a lack of context-specific knowledge, these approaches typically have employed a distinctly Western framework for understanding the problem, relying exclusively on measurements of economic status, educational level, health care or political participation. WISE approaches change from a holistic perspective that addresses the many interrelated factors that contribute to gender-based inequality.

WISE is structured as a global and inclusive movement. While Muslim women’s advocacy efforts have often fragmented, WISE breaks ground as an inclusive initiative. Drawing in women from across a wide spectrum of ideologies, professions and nationalities, it has fostered cooperation amongst divergent and sometimes opposing groups. Facilitated by this national, ideological and professional diversity, WISE women have united behind Islamic ideals and the commitment to creating positive, sustainable and much-needed change. Furthermore, WISE utilizes a top-down and bottom-up approach that is simultaneously global and grassroots, insuring direct access to local contexts via its network and local chapters.

How is WISE creating change? Top

By creating the infrastructure and space for a diverse group of Muslim women to join together, WISE leads collective efforts to challenge distorted interpretations of Islam, increase women’s social and economic self-determination, and amplify women’s voices at all levels of political, religious and social discourse. The WISE program approaches change in a holistic manner through four key strategies: communications, interpretation, philanthropy and collaboration.

Change through Communications
Change must be created through effective communications, both within the global WISE network and without, to the media and larger public. In response, WISE has developed a state-of-the-art Muslim women’s portal. No longer will Muslim women be defined by others. This comprehensive portal will serve as a clearinghouse of all information relating to Muslim women (past and present) and Muslim women’s activism, as well as a tool for connecting members of the global WISE network.

Change through Action
Change must be created through community organizing and mobilizing a global movement of Muslim women for social justice. Guided by the principles of the WISE Compact and aided by the various tools and resources of the program, the WISE community of leading Muslim women scholars, activists, artists, civil society and spiritual leaders and their respective constituents across the world are at the forefront of creating change.

Change through Collaboration
Change must be created through strategic partnerships, including with men and women of other faiths. WISE has fostered a number of key collaborative relationships with individuals, institutions and organizations throughout the globe (including the Aspen Institute, Naropa University, and many more) and in diverse sectors including offering a range of trainings; capacity-building activities and consultative services work in targeted countries.

Change through Interpretation
Change must be created through the interpretation (and reinterpretation) of key Islamic texts. WISE has created a global Muslim women’s Shura Council of Muslim women scholars and activists. Authentic to Islam and as an agent of the 21st century, this Council promotes women’s rights within an Islamic framework through education and advocacy activities.

What services does WISE offer? Top

The WISE program builds on the collective strengths, talents, expertise and experiences of its members: leading women activists, scholars, politicians, civil society leaders, journalists, philanthropists, spiritual leaders and artists from around the globe. It fosters collaboration and supports the diverse work of these Muslim women leaders worldwide. Building capacity for collective action, its effectiveness rests on the following components:

  • Convenings to allow a diverse spectrum of participants to strategize on the most critical issues facing Muslim women, enable the sharing of best practices and facilitate partnerships between otherwise fragmented movements. View 2009 Conference information.
  • Communications to leverage digital information on Muslim women and Islam and support proactive information exchange, first and foremost of WISE members, but also community leaders, policymakers, media representatives, educators and students.
  • Consultation services to offer strategic support, training and guidance for building, operating and sustaining the WISE’s global network, as well as country and local networks. View ‘Ask a WISE woman' request form.
  • Common learning to provide accessible knowledge and the sharing of critical strategies, enabling Muslim women around the globe to benefit from each other’s experiences and expertise. View resources.