F is for Fajr

Fair is one of the five daily prayers in Islam. Fajr translates to “dawn” in Arabic; as such, the fair prayer is completed before sunrise. In the Quran, dawn is described as beginning when there is enough light in the sky to distinguish a black thread from a white thread.


F is for Fasting

Fasting is called sawm in Arabic and is one of the five pillars of Islam. Healthy Muslims fast from dawn to sunset for almost thirty days during the month of Ramadan, the ninth month of the Islamic lunar calendar. Fasting requires abstaining from food, drink, smoking, and sexual activity and refraining from seeing, hearing or performing any bad acts. It is a form of purifying one’s soul and feeling empathy for those less fortunate.


F is for Fatima

Fatima is the daughter of the Prophet Muhammad and wife of Ali, the fourth caliph of Islam. She is one of the four highest women in Islam and seen as an example of a model Muslim because of her compassion and piety, as well as her close relationship with her father. Shia Muslims believe Fatima’s descendants are the divine Imams.


F is for Fatwa

Fatwa is a legal decision or verdict given by a qualified Islamic jurist in response to a legal question posed by individuals or an advocate. A Fatwa is issued by a person with expertise in Islamic jurisprudence, and the legal response can be issued verbally or in writing or as an approval. An act of issuing a Fatwa is called Ifta and a jurist issuing a fatwa is called a mufti.


F is for Fiqh

Fiqh is the human understanding of the sharia. Sharia is the divine Islamic law as revealed in the Quran and the Sunnah.


F is for Five Pillars

Five Pillars are the religious obligations that provide a framework to leading an Islamic lifestyle. The five pillars of Islam are profession of faith (shahada), prayer (salat), alms (zakat), fasting (sawm), and pilgrimage (Hajj).

Five Pillars of Islam
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow

F is for...